Principal's Portal

Dear Students,

I greet all members of the large family:- Our students, fellow colleagues in teaching and non- teaching ...

Read More

Sheershasth: The Debating Society

Sheershasth, the College Debating Society was started in the year 2010, with Ms. Ruchi Shrivastava being elected as its first President and subsequently Ms. Shubhrangana, Ms. Pooja Bharadwaj, Ms. Riya Dwivedi and Mr. Rajat Ahuja as Presidents and active members in the following years. In 2011, The Debating Society of ShyamLal College organized its first Inter College Parliamentary Debate, in collaboration with the Students Union of the College. The debate was held in the Parliament of India. Sheershasth (the present name), re-formed in 2014, organized a first-ever inter-college MUN meet on 11 February, 2015 in the Seminar Hall of the College. MUN, i.e. Model United Nations is an educational simulation and academic competitions in which students (acting as delegates) learn about diplomacy, international relations and the United Nations through involving in activities like public speaking, debating and writing skills as well. Delegates discussed on the following topics such as Environmental issues, International terrorism, Permanent membership in UNSC (United Nations Security Council).

Students of our College always show their extreme level of speaking skills and immense level of enthusiasm in the event. With great support from the college, its authorities, co-ordinating and the student members of the society, Sheershasth feels privileged in giving a platform to the budding speakers and mark a milestone in the College's growth. In 2015, Sheershasth was reconstituted again and held events such as an intra-college conventional debate competition on the topic " Woman is the companion of man having equal mental capacities" and a mega MUN, an inter-college event held in the College on Article 370 with special highlights on the recent JNU crisis. The Debating Society of the College, thus, keeps the spirit of secular debate uplifted among the youth for a stimulating atmosphere present and an intellectually brighter tomorrow.

List of Members:
  1. Ms. Pooja Sharma
  2. Ms. Nancy Murjani
  3. Mr. Mohan Singh
  4. Ms. Anjali
  5. Mr. Rajat Khansali
  6. Ms. Yukti
  7. Ms. Swati Upadhyay
  8. Ms. Madhu
  9. Mr. Vivek Kumar
  10. Ms. Himanshi Sharma
  11. Mr. Sneha Rawat
  12. Mr. rahul Kumar

Copyrights © 2018 All rights reserved.